Vallum Award Winners

2023 Winners


First Place: “Touching the Verb”, Bridget Huh


Winner: “Life Cycle of a Mayfly” by Maya Clubine

Cover Award

Winner: “Of Daydreams and Nightmares” by Luce Hua


2022 Winners


First Place: “resurgent artefacts” by Jasmine Gui
Second Place: “Distance” by Emilie Lafleur

The winning poems will appear in 20:1 | Dreams vs. Nightmares (Spring 2023).


Winner: House by Scott Cecchin
Finalists: Taliped by Elena Bently, and The Clothesline Series by Karen Mandell

Cover Award

Winner:  “Entangled” by Nora Kelly


2021 Winners


First Place: “My City The City” by Khashayar Mohammadi
Second Place: “Elegy” by Robyn Maree Pickens

The winning poems appear in 19:1 | Bridges.


2020 Winners

First Place: “Walking Into August in East-end Toronto 2020” by Judy Barlow
Second Place: “Border Crossings” by Mary Trafford

Honourable Mention: “Linger Factor” by Josh Feit
Honourable Mention: “we lost ahmaud” by Esther Johnson
Honourable Mention: “As Unnoticed As Possible” by Michael Trussler

The winning poems appear in  18:1 | Invisibility.


2019 Winners

First Place: “Grotto” by Ellen Chang-Richardson
Second Place: “Participation and passive views (Twin Peaks in under two minutes)” by Conor McDonnell
Honourable Mention: Sam Kaspar, “eau de stripper”

The winning poems appear in  17:1 | Home.


2018 Winners

First Place: “BLOOR-YONGE” by Evan J
Second Place: “Lake Activity” by brad bradley

Honourable Mention: “Middle Distance” by Robert Colman

The winning poems appear in  16:1 | Connections.


2017 Winners

First Place: “Waking in the Preceding” by Ali Blythe
Second Place: “The Incommensurate” by Brian Henderson

Honourable Mention: “Ur Signs” by Judy Little
Honourable Mention: “After Eden” by Roberta Senechal

The winning poems appear in  15:1 | Memory and Loss.


2016 Winners

First Place: “To my mother, aloud” by E. Canine McJabber
Second Place: “To a Young Man Seen Wearing a Bow Tie” by James McKee

Honourable Mention: “Dietary Restriction” by Catriona Wright
Honourable Mention: “blooming on my skin (a flor de piel)” by María José GiménezÂ
Honourable Mention: “Her First First Nations Boyfriend” by Sue Reynolds
Honourable Mention: “Joy” by Salvatore Difalco

The winning poems appear in  14:1 | Evolution.


2015 Winners

First Place: “Girl Gives Birth to Thunder” by K.T. Billey
Second Place: “It Was a Golden Age of Monsters” by John Sibley Williams

Honourable Mention: “Finding the Field with No Roads” by Grace Vermeer
Honourable Mention: “Vicarious” by Joan Crate
Honourable Mention: “The Outsider” by Maxence Yaelle
Honourable Mention: “They Were There” by Alycia Pirmohamed

The winning poems appear in  13:1 | Open Theme.


2014 Winners

First Place: “The Long Study” by Alexei Perry Cox
Second Place: “Last evening I stumbled” by Carla Barkman

Honourable Mention: “Apple to Apple” by Susan Hughson
Honourable Mention: “pass this note” by Domenico Capilongo

The winning poems appear in  12:1 | Surrender.


2013 Winners

First Place: “Godzilla Versus Mothra” by Michael Prior
Second Place: “Hawk” by John Pahl

Honourable Mention: “No Paradise Here” by Mary Ann Moore
Honourable Mention: “Summer” by Elana Wolff
Honourable Mention: “Dun” by Ulrike Narwani

The winning poems appear in  11:1 | Thresholds.


2012 Winners

First Place: “A Man of Plain, Common Understanding” by Emily Paskevics
Second Place: “Ariadne’s Thread” by Jim Johnstone

Honourable Mention: “Welcome Sign” by Denver Jermyn
Honourable Mention: “Her He” by Susan C. Evans
Honourable Mention: “The Swan” by Matthew Requa

The winning poems appear in  10:1 | Magic.


2011 Winners

First Place: “Telecommuting Spouses” by Peter Richardson
Second Place: “Veninum Lupinum” by Jack Miller

Honourable Mention: “Dark Matter” by Roxanna Bennett
Honourable Mention: “Tougher Than Leather” by Joseph Anderson
Honourable Mention: “Up Ahead” by Lucy Ricciardi

The winning poems appear in  9:1 | Poets from Pakistan.


2010 Winners

First Place: “My Father’s Grief” by Pamela Porter
Second Place: “Displacement” by John Reibetanz

Honourable Mention: “Theory and Practice” by Susan Steudel

The winning poems appear in  8:1 | Futures.